Consumable gifts.

6 Jan
skillet toffee

Toffee covered with chocolate & toasted almonds... not for the faint of heart.

I’m a big fan of giving gifts that are meant to be enjoyed gustatorily. Food and drink gifts tend to be indulgent, are often created as a labor of love and won’t sit around permanently cluttering up the giftee’s apartment. I’m lucky to have food-enthusiast friends who seem to feel the same way, which means Christmas–followed almost immediately by my birthday–is pretty much guaranteed to be delicious. I was delighted to receive all sorts of treats this year, including a bottle of Bärenjäger honey liqueur that is earmarked for my beloved wintertime hot toddies (and if there’s any left come spring, for a bastardized version of a Bees’ Knees cocktail), an order form for homemade ice cream customizable to my wildest culinary dreams, a stack of “happy” hamburger patties, homemade fromage blanc with wine jelly (already devoured alongside another gift of jalapeno pepper jelly), and a heavy, rich-smelling plum pudding with accompanying lump of butter that I’m dying to dig into.

On the giving side of things I chose skillet toffee after reading this recipe at thekitchn. The Nerd and I, both new to toffee-making, tackled it together. It turned out to be easier than I expected, but also harder; we had some laughable trial-and-error lessons. Like: his super-hot, slow-to-change electric burner was definitely set waaay too high the first batch. All that butter and sugar went from melting to smoking, burnt brown and separated in about 2 seconds flat! Tragedy! But the following batches came out better. You can see a sample of the good stuff pictured above. Obviously, I was compelled to keep tasting the finished product to make sure everything was ok… Merry Christmas to me!

2 Responses to “Consumable gifts.”

  1. Albany Jane January 6, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    Yummy, yum, yum! Although the down side to this is now the huge urge to make toffee myself…

    • Elizabeth January 6, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

      How can making yourself a tray of toffee ever have a downside? 🙂

Leave a Reply

