Rainy day jams.

4 May

The end of April brought the end of the sock monkey & photography show Nicole and I put together for the Lark Street BID. Our month of exhibition went by so quickly! It seems like only a few days ago we were running around Albany taking pictures of those crazy monkeys. The end of the month also marked the finish of a thoughtful First Friday opening-night gift made by my pal Stephen: pâté paired with incredibly savory-sweet onion jam.

jars of pate and onion jam

Mmmm, onion jam. Paté on the left.

Stephen’s the kind of guy who has the ability to make everything he touches magically delicious, and this was no different. The pâté was great and disappeared quickly. And let me tell you about the onion jam. Oh, the onion jam. Wow. It was the first time I’d tried this savory and sweet treat and I loved it. I had a lot of fun exploring ways to enjoy it, too: a dab on some crusty bread with the aforementioned pâté. Tossed with roasted root vegetables from the farmers’ market. A spoonful stirred into scrambled eggs along with fresh herbs. Tasty, tastier, tastiest.

Here’s why I’m telling you this (it’s not just to gloat, I promise!): if you’re tempted to try making your own onion-jammy jar of deliciousness, now is the perfect time. You see, the key to most of the recipes I’ve found is lonnnnng cooking times. You don’t want to be tied to the oven in the middle of the summer do you? No. So, right now, before the heat, while the weather is a bit chilly and blah: pick a recipe,  get in the kitchen and give it a go. I will, too.

One Response to “Rainy day jams.”

  1. Stephen F. May 4, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    I glad The onion jam lead you to pursue creation on your own. You are the kind of appreciative friend that inspires me to cook.

Leave a Reply

