My new raised beds!

20 Sep

two raised beds

This past weekend I harvested the remaining tomatoes and cleared out my containers, which was a bit sad. When I left for Sunday’s swap there were saw noises coming from the garage, and I came home to two cedar plank raised beds built by a certain handy (and handsome) man replacing the stretch previously occupied by containers! Time to start composting again and dream up next year’s garden. I’m thinking less tomatoes, no peppers, same amount beans and way more greens. What do you plant in your backyard?

6 Responses to “My new raised beds!”

  1. Jason September 20, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    Weeds. And empty beer cans. I got a nice little thing going.

    • Elizabeth September 20, 2011 at 10:42 am #

      You have a yard? I had no idea! Maybe this spring you’ll have a nice crop of PBR 6-packs…

  2. becky @ the Mixing Bowl Diary September 21, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    I have been thinking and re-thinking what I will plant next year. I actually tried to take notes this summer {on how the garden did} so I wont repeat the same mistakes next year. I think I will grow more greens next year too…maybe Kale even. Maybe less eggplant and peppers too…and I probably need to give up on watermelon. This is the second year and they just dont grow well for me.
    Your raised beds look nice. What a fun thing to come home to!

    p.s. hope you like the roasted tomato – olive tapenade 🙂 We eat so much of it that I have to make new batches all the time!

    • Elizabeth September 28, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

      I do like it! I’ve been using it on so many things… just this morning I put a little on toast and added a fried egg on top… delicious!

  3. Maureen September 28, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    Never much and we more often than not we forget it’s there until it’s too late – zuchini (learned quickly not to have too many plants or you’ll have zuchini enough to fill a bathtub), eggplant – love it, various tomatoes and brussel sprouts (very cool how they grow).

    Oh, and we have the concord grapes too. I believe even some of them are from Santa’s. You should come and get a few slips to start your own. Rich will walk you thru it.

    • Elizabeth September 28, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

      I’d like to try eggplant and brussel sprouts, and definitely nixing the squash this year (I get enough from Mom’s overload!) Concord grapes are the plan, too… Mom took cuttings for me from Santa’s pruning this year, but we didn’t have the house yet so she planted them in her yard until next year, with varying success. And I’ll take any help I can get! I’ll make sure to bring it up next time I see you & Rich.

Leave a Reply

